Homemade Bread

I love making homemade bread. Especially from fresh ground wheat.  Last week, we got a grain mill attachment for my mixer.  Which makes grinding wheat a lot nicer now that it only takes 10 mins to grind it instead of an hour or more like it was taking on my hand grinder.

I like to use about 2 1/3 c Soft White Wheat and 4 2/3 c Hard Red Wheat.  I find that gives me a fluffier bread.   You can use store-bought whole wheat flour too, but be sure to fluff it with a fork before you measure it or your bread will come out really really heavy.

Measure out 2 c water, plus a little extra and warm it to between 105F and 120F.  The extra is to account for any evaporation.  After you have it the desired temperature, measure out 2 cups.  Water your house plants with whatever extra you have.  🙂

Add 1/3 c agave nectar and a slightly heaping teaspoon of yeast.  Set aside.

In your mixing bowl, combine 3 c flour, 1/3 c gluten flour (i am working on not having to use the gluten flour anymore, but I haven’t figured out a good way to make fluffy bread without it) 1/3 c oil and 2t salt.

If your yeast mixture is foamy then it is ready to add.

As you mix, gradually add more flour until your dough is not sticky to touch.  Knead for 15 mins.  (10 if you are using a mixer)  It should be elastic when you are done kneading.

Put someplace warm and ignore for an hour.  In my case, warm is in my dehydrator set to “rising bread”.

While you are waiting, butter your loaf pans.

After an hour, it should be about double in size.  Punch your bread down and shape it so it will fit in your loaf pans.  I’m not quite sure how to describe shaping the loaf, so hopefully the pictures will do it for me.

Warm the oven slightly (about 100F) and put the loaf pans in to let it rise again.  This time about 30 mins.

Then just turn your oven on to 350F.  Bake for about 40 mins.  When they are ready they will be golden brown and the bottoms will sound hollow when you thump them.  Brush a little butter on the tops while they cool.

Here’s the ingredient list in a manner that’s a little easier to read:

2c very warm water

2 1/3 c soft white wheat (omit if using store flour)

4 2/3 hard red wheat (7c if using store flour)

2t salt

1/3 c oil

1/3 c agave nectar

1 T+ yeast

1/3 gluten flour

I adapted my recipe from The Family Homestead.

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

