Learning Homemaking with an Almost 19 Month Old.

Rachael has taken to trying to wipe puddles away when she sees them. So, I figured I would use that to my advantage, and armed her with a rag. Now, I can just make my own puddles, and put her to work. 🙂 After figuring that out 2 days ago, I think I now have the cleanest toilet seat lid in town. She stood there wiping it for nearly 15 mins.

The only problem I have encountered with her love of puddle wiping is that she also likes to pour out whatever is in her sippy cup and wipe that around too…

I came to the realization in the last couple of weeks that the best housekeeping advice I’ve been given came from my husband. “Pick up after yourself.” I think he’s been telling me that ever since we got married. I’ve been trying to do better about not abandoning one project to go to another. It does seem to be helping to keep the house clean. At least a little.

While working on the Self Discipline Chapter of Polished Cornerstones, I realized, part of my problem is lack of discipline, but a bigger issue is I don’t have the faintest clue how to manage my time wisely. Which makes learning self-discipline even harder. So, we are going to start learning about time management this month. I also need to revise my routine I made last month. Rachael eliminated her morning nap, and moved her afternoon nap to about 1130.

So, my goal is to start some of the polished cornerstones lessons. And Rachael’s, although not a PC lesson, is to pick up her toys before bedtime so I don’t trip over them while coming to check on her during the night. 🙂

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning Homemaking with an Almost 19 Month Old.

  1. Heather says:

    SO sweet! 🙂 My daughter’s favorite “toy” at 18 months was a sponge. She would just take it around the entire house and clean!

  2. This is sooooooooooooo cute! Thanks for sharing on the link-up!

  3. Diana says:

    Love those blonde curls!! I have an 18 month old daughter that LOVES to dust. A busy mothers dream 🙂 My daughter has those adorable blonde curls too!

Leave a Reply

