Learning to Cook

Yesterday, Rachael helped me cook. I’ve had her help before, but she tends to get in the way. She actually did very well last night. I guess that is one of the nice things about pizza — its easy.

I chopped up the veggie toppings while Rachael helped me sort them into bowls.

We then worked on making sausage. I used the recipe from Raising Homemakers. I didn’t have any ground turkey, so I substituted ground lamb. It turned out pretty good. Rachael dumped the spices in the bowl for me. (after i measured them)

Shortly after I took that picture, Rachael used the measuring spoon to scoop up a bunch of the spices and eat them. She then informed me that a 1/4 teaspoon of nothing but spices doesn’t taste very good. 🙂

Rachael got to eat cheddar bunnies while I rolled out the pizza dough. I used a recipe from Nourishing Traditions, that while tasted pretty good, I didn’t read the directions all the way, and missed the prebake. So it never did get it to cook all the way though, and the middle of our pizza was slightly gooey….Anyway, after I got the dough rolled out and on the pizza pan, Rachael helped me put tomato sauce on the dough. The only problem we had there, was by then Rachael was hungry, and when I gave her the spoon to help me spread the sauce, she kept stabbing the dough trying to scoop up a spoon full to eat.

We then add the toppings

and after 45 mins, we had a pizza. 🙂

For learning homemaking myself, I’m sort of doing Polishing Cornerstones. The assignment was to read a book on nutrition or some aspect of healthy eating. Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon has been really fascinating. However, reading is going very slow. I will write about it if i ever get past page 25. 🙂

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning to Cook

  1. Tracey says:

    She is precious!! One day she’ll be quite the homemaker! 🙂

  2. I like your blog!

    This time in the kitchen with Rachael was sweet; keep up the good work. My little girl is a little younger than R. and just loves following me around the kitchen and helping out and watching. Thanks for letting me peek in on another mom and daughter at work. :o)

  3. Adorable! My daughter is only 3 months old. I can’t wait until she’s old enough to cook with me! *JOY!*

Leave a Reply

