Repurposed Leftovers

When I read about different ways to save on my grocery budget, one thing I consistently read is to repurpose leftovers. But I very rarely come across anything that tells me how to repurpose them. This was one idea that I had:

Monday night, we had rotisserie chicken for dinner. After dinner, we had only eaten the breasts. So I tossed the wings and leg quarters in the fridge, and then Wednesday night, we had chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas
Remove skin and debone chicken, reserve bones and skin
Shred chicken
Sautee onion, i used 1/2, but normally, i use a whole one
Add chicken, cook until heated though
Add green chile, i used 8 ounces
Soft fry corn tortillas
Place 1 tortilla on plate, top with chicken mixture, then top with cheese, repeat until desired amount is served.

Once you have dinner ready (or almost ready) go back to your chicken scraps. Dump them in a stock pot, and cover with water. Bring to a boil, and then turn to low heat, and ignore it until bedtime. Stick it in the fridge, and in the morning, simmer on low heat 6-8 hours. Now you also have chicken stock. And you used your chicken 3 times.

If you want you can also toss veggie scraps in with the chicken. That will give it some vitamins. I usually forget and throw my veggie scraps in the compost first…Also, the stock freezes really well, and you can do it with any leftover bones, chicken, turkey, beef, lamb, etc. I will warn though…I have only made beef broth once, about a month ago, and I thought it really really stunk. But that could be because I’m pregnant, and random things stink right now…:)

What ways do you repurpose leftovers?

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

