Chicks

Three weeks ago, we awoke to find all 5 of our 11 week old chicks dead. We don’t know for sure what killed them, but a dog seems to be the most likely suspect. It was really upsetting. I think the hardest part was Rachael didn’t understand why they weren’t in the coop anymore and kept asking to go see them.

So, I went on a hunt for more chickens. The feed store said that they sold their last ones for the season the day before mine were killed. They took down my name in case they heard anything, but they weren’t very hopeful that I would get any before Easter next year. So, I looked online, but I live in the middle of nowhere, so getting chicks sent to me would cost quite a bit. After discussing with Bryan, he told me I had to either find a local source or wait. About a week later, I found some chicks listed on craigslist, but they were 45 miles away…sorta local. I talked with Bryan again, and then we suddenly have 8 Australorp chicks.

I want to get a picture of Rachael holding them. But its hard to work the camera while trying to keep her from squashing one.

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

