Becoming a Self-Disciplined Woman

For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, waiting for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ,
Titus 2:11-13

Just before Jesus ascended to heaven, He said that He would send us a helper — the Holy Spirit. I found great comfort in realizing that I have help in learning to follow Christ, especially in the realm of self-discipline.
This is something that I desperately need to learn. If I have minimal self-discipline, how can I teach my daughter self-discipline?   I recently got Polished Cornerstones and was glad to see that they have a chapter on being Self Disciplined.  My daughter is too young to be self-disciplined (she’s almost 18 months old)  but, as I learn, I can teach her.

For Rachael, we already had a bedtime routine.  So, I decided to give her a morning routine — something that she did not have because I did not have one.  So now, after breakfast every morning, we get ready for the day, not when mommy gets around to it.  I also gave myself a schedule, dividing up the house so that I focus on a particular room each day.  Perhaps, eventually, I’ll be able to reclaim my house 🙂

About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Becoming a Self-Disciplined Woman

  1. Oh I LOVE living by a schedule – my cleaning schedule will go up tomorrow on Raising Homemakers. What you are doing will be such a blessing to your home in the long run. Keep up the discipline!
    Courtney

  2. great idea! the schedule is so important, esp if you want to have more children. our morning routine just got completely turned upside down with the fourth addition, but i hope to get back on track soon. am eager to see how Polished Cornerstones impacts you 🙂 and thank you for the reminder of the Holy Spirit as our helper. i often try to do things on my own, and then wonder why it didn’t work.

    blessings!

  3. Mama Mirage says:

    Routines are great for little ones… and for us moms! 😉 When I get a routine going I can actually accomplish something. When I don’t have one I find myself running around like a chicken with my head off wearing myself out and getting nothing noticeable done. :p

  4. Rose says:

    Amen sister! I think that is about the age my daughter was (and I was pregnant, too) that I realized I needed some more order. Isn’t it great how God gives us children to rapidly pound the corners off our rough edges? Its painful a lot of the time, but I am learning to appreciate it. Thanks for this lovely post!

Leave a Reply

