Marriage Challenge: Captivate Your Husband

Bryan and I got married May 20th, 2006.  We had been “dating” for about two years.    How we met is actually also closely tied to my salvation testimony.

I was in my freshman year of college.  And I was miserable.  Emotionally, I was not ready to be sent off to college.  So I ended up secluding and isolating myself.  I went to class often enough for my teachers to not write me off as a complete bum, but I was lazy, and I didn’t try.  I spent most of my time sulking on the computer in my dorm.  A friend of mine from high school became very concerned about me.  So he gave me his instant messenger buddy list, figuring that if I wasn’t going to make friends where I was, maybe I could make some friends online.   It was these friends who helped me to realize my sinfulness and my need for a Saviour.

His plan worked, and I began to make friends with people at his university, 150 miles away.  Eventually, I got really tired of my new “friends” being computers.  So I planned a trip to visit my high school friend, and meet everyone else.  While I was there, visiting with my new friends, Bryan came over to their dorm to study chemistry.  We were introduced, but couldn’t care less about each other.

I started going to visit my new friends every weekend.   During this time, Bryan and I also got to know each other.  He found out that I was struggling in my C Programming class, and offered to help me.  So we exchanged instant messenger screen names and started chatting online during the week.   Then came finals week.  In studying for my math final, I realized, I didn’t understand most of the material.  So, I asked one of my new friends for help.  He said he would help me, and I drove up.  But, it turned out he was super busy that weekend, and didn’t have much time to devote to helping me learn math.  But, Bryan again, offered to help.  We studied for a while, and then got bored and went for a walk.  Played on the parked equipment, and walked around the duck pond.  (Ducks are terrifying late at night)  The the sprinklers at the golf course turned on, so we ran though the sprinklers.  And then got back to our friend’s dorm room dripping wet — I’m sure we were appreciated…

We continued dating for another year.  Long distance relationships are hard, but we visited each other basically every weekend.  Many of those weekends were spent walking around and exploring.  After we had been dating a little more than a year, I moved to the same town he was living in.  We got engaged that summer, and married the next year.

Looking back, the thing that got his attention wasn’t my housekeeping skills, really, the only thing he knew about me was I could live out of a backpack in someone’s livingroom.  But that I could have fun doing little things…going to the park, trying not to step on sleeping ducks, and running though the sprinklers, or just sitting by the edge of the pond and watch the people fishing, the ducks, and laughing.  I don’t do that anymore…

He’s been wanting to take our daughter to the bosque.   So, I need to start riding my bike to build up my stamina so we can go.  🙂

Oh, and I would post pictures, but we’re not big picture people…so….there are none to share.  🙂

Proverbs 5:18-19
Let your fountain be blessed,
And rejoice with the wife of your youth.
As a loving deer and a graceful doe,
Let her breasts satisfy you at all times;
And always be enraptured with her love.
About Kara

I am a daughter of The King, my Lord and Saviour, Christ Jesus. I am helpmeet to Bryan, and mommy to a precious little girl, and another little one on the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

